God Shiva’s Mission

Deity Shiva

God Shiva


1. Deity Shiva’s Mission

Normally, many people know how to chant the Name of a particular Deity, which colour of flower to offer and related information; however its mission, its spriritual importance etc. are not known. The following article will help understand these aspects of Deity Shiva in detail.

2. Creation of the universe

Shiva-Parvati are known as जगतःपितर, the parents of the universe. At the time of dissolution of the universe, Shiva generates an atmosphere conducive to regeneration.

A. Creation of the universe from the sound of the damaru

From the fifty-two notes emitted by Shankar’s damaru, that is, from the 52 sounds, nad-bijas or bij-mantras (52 letters) were generated, and through them the universe was created. Nad (नद) – nada (नाद) is the process of continuous flow. The sound da, da, dam (द द दम), meaning, ददामि त्वम् । (I am giving you) was generated from these bijas of sound. It was as though Shiva assured the universe I bestow you with spiritual knowledge, purity and penance.

B. The control of the whole universe has its origins in the tandav-nrutya of Shiva

Nataraj is another name of Shiva. When His tandav-nrutya (Cosmic dance of Shiva) begins, its resonance provides momentum to the functioning of the universe, and when His dance ceases, He dissolves this entire universe into Himself and remains alone, engrossed in His eternal Anand (Bliss).

C. The universe is a spontaneous creation that has
emanated from the omnipresent Shivatattva, full of Chaitanya

Every individual is Divine because of the presence of the Shivatattva (The soul) within. That is the Supreme Shiva. The Supreme Shiva absorbs every object. This is His Vishwatmak form (Constituting the essence of all objects). He exists even after absorbing all objects. This is His Vishvottirna form (transcendental form). The entire universe is His spontaneous Creation. The universe did exist before too. At the time of Creation, with the union of Shiva-Shakti, it manifested. – Gurudev Dr. Kateswamiji

D. Although without a form, the universe is a reflection
due to Supreme Shiva’s independent Shakti

Supreme Shiva is the only Principle. Maya (The Great Illusion) is the form taken by Him of His own desire. The Supreme Shiva is the conductor of the five actions in the universe – Srushti (Creation), Sthiti (Sustenance), Samhar (Annihilation), Anugraha (Grace) and Vilaya (Dissolution). This universe is a reflection of the Supreme Shiva. Objects like the tree, mountain, elephant, cow etc. are reflected in a clear mirror and appear separate from the mirror. In reality, they are not different from their reflection. So also, the universe reflected in the Supreme Shiva is not different from Him, although the tree, mountain, elephant, cow appear to be different. A reflection is actually possible only in the presence of an image; but here, due to the independent Shakti of Shiva, the universe has a reflection even in the absence of a form. – Gurudev Dr. Kateswamiji

E. Mission according to the Period, Name and Form / Mission

Jagadguru : ज्ञानं महेश्वरात् इच्छेत् मोक्षम् इच्छेत् जनार्दनात्।

Meaning : We should worship Shiva for spiritual knowledge and Janardan (Shrivishnu) for Moksha (Final Liberation).


3. One who performs spiritual practice Himself
and one who ascertains the spiritual progress of others

Shiva meditates on the Kailas mountain located in the North and keeps a watch over the entire world. He Himself performs spiritual practice and ascertains the spiritual progress of others. – H.H. Parashram Pande Maharaj, Sanatan Ashram, Devad, Panvel, Maharashtra.


4. One who incinerates Kamadev (Deity of desire), that is,
destroys personality defects (like carnal desires) in the subconscious mind

Fighting desires is more difficult than a four or five year-old child attempting to fight a grown-up. Shiva completely burnt Kamadev; which indicates His capabilities and powers.


5. After incinerating Kamadev, giving him a place in every individual’s mind

By opening the third eye located between the eyebrows, Shankar not only destroyed lust, but also completely burnt Kamadev. When Kamadev’s wife Rati pleaded with Shankar, asking how will the Creation of population be possible now, He forgave and brought Kamadev back to life. However, Kamadev became bodiless. He has lodged himself firmly in the subconscious mind of all jivas (Embodied souls) and is conquering the whole world. Hence, in order to destroy desire, we should worship Shankar. By His grace, the subconscious mind will become free from all defects. – Gurudev Dr. Kateswamiji

6. The master of Adnya-chakra

There are six chakras in our body – Muladhar-chakra, Swadhishthan-chakra, Manipur-chakra, Anahat-chakra, Vishuddha-chakra and Adnya-chakra. After the Kundalini-shakti flows through these chakras it enters the Sahasrar-chakra. Each of these chakras is associated with specific Deities. For example, the Muladhar-chakra is associated with Shri Ganapati, and the Swadhishthan-chakra is associated with Datta. In other words, a specific Deity is the master of that respective chakra. Shiva is the master of the Adnya-chakra. He is the primal Guru. For a disciple serving the Guru, the most important quality is obedience. From this perspective, the seat of Shiva located at the Adnya-chakra is evidence that He is the Supreme Guru. This is also the location of the third eye (the eye of knowledge) of Shiva.

7. Mrutyunjaya

Mahadev is also known as Somadev. Yama, the master of the southern direction, is the Deity of death; whereas, Soma (Shiva), who is mrutyunjaya (One who has conquered death), is the master of the northern direction. The pindi of Shankar is also always installed facing the north. Yama is the master of the smashans (cremation grounds); whereas, the Deity who resides there, wearing a garland of skulls and engrossed in meditation, is Shiva. Through penance, the soul crosses the Agni (Fire), Yama (Deity of death), Varun (Deity of water / rain) and Vayu (Air) Principles and reaches the Shivatattva which is the conqueror of death. Then, that jiva is granted abhay (Protection) by Shiva and handed over to the Divine Principle – this is the time when the jiva and Shiva merge. – H.H. Parashram Pande Maharaj, Sanatan Ashram, Devad, Panvel, Maharashtra.


8. One who leads to a state beyond the three components

Shankar destroys all the three components (Sattva, Raja and Tama), meaning, ignorance simultaneously.



Form / Mission

1. Vedic period Rudra (One who makes others cry) Terrifying
2. Post-Vedic period Shiva Mild
3. Pouranic period (0

to 1000 AD)

Mahesh The Deity responsible for

annihilation in the trinity –

Brahma, Vishnu and Mahesh

4. Post-Pouranic

period (After 1000


Mahadev (The God of

all Gods)

One who is responsible for

Creation, Sustenance and


Reference : Sanatan’s Holy Text ‘Shiva’
Categories Shiva

Leave a Comment

Download ‘Ganesh Puja and Aarti’ App