Science of the idol of Shri Vishnu

We find Idols of Shri Vishnu as ancient as the 2nd Century to 8th Century. Shri Vishnu is described as ‘चतुर्णांपुरुषार्थानांदाता’ -One who imparts all the four Purusharthas;hence, He has four hands.

1. Weapons, ornaments, family and the underlying meaning

Organ / Family Weapon /Ornament  Name  Colour  Mission / Underlying meaning
 1. Head  Crown  Kutastha  –  Sattva
 2. Ears  Kundal  –  –  Perishable and nonperishable principles
 3. Neck  Garland of flowers  Vaijayanti  Panchavarna  Adya and Ajaya Shakti (Divine Energy)
 4. Chest  Precious stone  Kausthubha  Red  Tej (Absolute Fire Principle)
 5. Hands
 A.  Conch  Panchajanya  Purnachandra  Panchamahabhuta-oriented Shabdabrahman (Divinity in words) or blessings at the time of commencement of war
 B.  Chakra  Sudarshanchakra  Sahastrasurya  Weapon that has to be hurled, used for fighting from a distance
C. Gada (Mace) [One that is touching the ground near the right foot] Kaumodaki Krushna (Black) Weapon used for close fights, Adividya (Primitive Knowledge), form of mahat (Great), Shakti that demolishes the ego
D. Padma (Lotus)   – Creation, environment, Shanti (Peace)
E. Bow Shangarga Adimaya (Primal energy)
6. Family
A. Wife Shri Lakshmi Gold Shakti
Wife Pushti Shirishapushpa Shakti
B. Nag (Serpent)  – Ananta Cloud Pavitrak
 C. Vehicle  Eagle  Lotus  Vehicle
  • Vaijayanti = ‘Vai’ + ‘jayanti’. In Sanskrut ‘Vai’ means many eras and ‘jayanti’ means chains. One who wears the chain of Vaijayanti around the neck, meaning, One who wears many eras around His neck like chains, who transcends time is Shri Vishnu.
  • The rotating chakra means Maya (The Great Illusion), and the finger that is steady around which it rotates is Brahman.
  • Shri Lakshmi:Shakti that is constantly in motion and destroys the mind (desires) and bad aspects. Shri Lakshmi is seated near the feet of Shri Vishnu. (Parvati is seated on Shiva’s lap. This togetherness of Shiva-Parvati is dissolution of duality between them, meaning, existence of non-duality.)

A. Implied meanings of weapons

 Weapon  Implied meaning Nad (Sound)
1. Shankha(Conch)  Doubt  Sound changes over from
low pitch to high pitch
 2. Chakra  Mind getting disturbed
(Beginning of the thought process)
 Gun S Gun S Gun S
 3. Gada  After the mind gets disturbed because of doubts, getting a feeling of being hit by a hammer  Khan
 4. Padma  Getting to know an aspect  –


2. Sheshashayi Shri Vishnu (Padmanabha)

SheshashayiVishnu is one of the famous forms of Shri Vishnu. In this form, He Reclines on the serpent named Shesha. Shri Lakshmi is seated at His feet. There is a lotus emerging from His navel. Deity Brahma is seated on the lotus and the earth is supported on Shesha’s head.The implied meaning of this form is given ahead.

Shrivishnu relaxing on the body of Sheshnag

A. Shesha

‘Shesha’ means ‘reserve’ or ‘remnant’. When a number is subtracted from another, the remainder is shesha. So also, when a particle starts disintegrating, the particle that remains in the end, which is the most subtle and which cannot be disintegrated further, in effect meaning the core of the paramanu (Atom), is called shesha. It has three subtle most particles – dhan (Proton), rhun (Electron) and udasin (Neutron).

B. Earth

The earth is made up of minute particles. The existence of every particle is dependent on the shesha within its core. The earth is held on Shesha’s head, which implies that Shesha is supporting the earth.

C. Shri Vishnu

The radiance from the proton, electron and neutron waves emanating from Shesha is Shri Vishnu.

D. Shri Lakshmi

If Shri Vishnu is the proton-form, then Shri Lakshmi is electron-form. In other words, Shri Lakshmi is the feminine form of Shri Vishnu.

E. The lotus

Lotus is a symbol of Creation. The energy which emanates from Shri Vishnu’s navel, meaning, that which emanates from the Para mode of speech is depicted as a lotus. This energy of Creation does not belong to Shri Vishnu alone. It is created from the union of Shri Vishnu and Shri Lakshmi. Shri Vishnu is also called Padmanabha due to the lotus that emerges from His navel.The Sahasrar-chakra, the last in Kundaliniyoga is also called Sahasradal. The lotus that has emerged from Shri Vishnu’s navel symbolises the Sahasradal.

F. Deity Brahma

The spiritual experience arising from lotus,that is, from energy of Creation, is called Brahmadev or Brahma.


3. Twenty-four Names of Shri Vishnu and the weapons in their hands

There are various Names of Shri Vishnu, and the form of Shri Vishnu changes a little as per the Name. This change is found only with respect to the order of the weapons in His hands. There is difference of opinion as to which weapons should be in which hand. The picture of Shri Vishnu on the cover of this Holy text is one among these. The weapons in the hands of 24 Names (forms) of Shri Vishnu as per the Holy texts Nirnaysindhu and Agnipurana are listed ahead.

 Name  As per Nirnaysindhu  As per Agnipurana
 Right Bottom Right Upper Left Upper Left Bottom  Right Bottom Right Upper Left Upper  Left Bottom
 Keshav  Shankha  Chakra  Gada  Padma  Padma  Shankha  Chakra  Gada
 Narayan  Padma  Gada  Chakra  Shankha  Shankha  Padma  Gada  Chakra
 Madhav  Chakra  Shankha  Padma  Gada  Gada  Chakra  Shankha  Padma
 Govind  Gada  Padma  Shankha  Chakra  Chakra  Gada  Padma  Shankha
Shri Vishnu  Padma  Shankha  Chakra  Gada  Gada  Padma  Shankha  Chakra
 Madhusudan Shankha Padma  Gada  Chakra  Shankha  Chakra  Padma  Gada
 Trivikram  Gada  Chakra  Shankha  Padma  Padma  Gada  Chakra  Shankha
 Vaman  Shankha  Chakra  Padma  Gada  Shankha  Chakra  Gada  Padma
Shridhar Chakra Gada Shankha Padma Padma Chakra Gada Shankha
Rhushikesha Chakra Padma Shankha Gada Gada Chakra Padma Shankha
Padmanabha Padma Chakra Gada Shankha Shankha Padma Chakra Gada
Damodar Shankha Gada Chakra Padma Padma Shankha Gada Chakra
Sankarshan Shankha Padma Chakra Gada Gada Shankha Padma Chakra
Vasudev Chakra Gada Padma Shankha Gada Shankha Chakra Padma
Pradyumna Shankha Gada Padma Chakra Chakra Shankha Gada Padma
Aniruddha Gada Shankha Padma Chakra Chakra Gada Shankha Padma
Purushottam Padma Shankha Gada Chakra Chakra Padma Shankha Gada
Adhokshaj Gada Shankha Chakra Padma Padma Gada Shankha Chakra
Narsimha Padma Gada Shankha Chakra Chakra Padma Gada Shankha
Achyut Padma Chakra Shankha Gada Gada Padma Chakra Shankha
Janardan Chakra Shankha Gada Padma Padma Chakra Shankha Gada
Upendra Gada Chakra Padma Shankha Shankha Gada Chakra Padma
Hari Chakra Padma Gada Shankha Chakra Shankha Padma Gada
Shrikrushna Gada Padma Chakra Shankha Shankha Gada Padma Chakra
Reference : Sanatan’s Holy Text “Shri Vishnu(Functions, special characteristicsand science underlying worship)”

Leave a Comment